PO Box 40014, Tucson, AZ 85717

AFMTE Press Release Call for Applications Educators of the Year Award 2014


Cherie Sohnen-Moe [email protected]

Phone: 855-236-8331 Fax: 786-522-2440

Release Date:



AFMTE, Biofreeze, and BonVital’ 2014 Educators of the Year Award


We are proud to announce that we are now accepting applications for our 2014 Educators of the Year Awards.

The Alliance for Massage Therapy Education recently published our NTESP Core Competencies for Massage Therapy Teachers. This document includes ten standards, each of which describe the knowledge, skills and attitudes that form the basis for effective and successful teaching. As part of this, we have also established the Educators of the Year Award (1 for a teacher in a school setting and 1 for a continuing education provider). This award honors excellence in massage and bodywork education and serves to foster a culture that supports raising the standards of excellence in massage and bodywork education. The recipients are chosen based on their experience, teacher training taken, and how well they meet the core competency standards.

Each nominee is required to complete an application and return it on or before May 31, 2014. Educators can directly apply or be nominated by a colleague. Winners will be announced and contacted directly on July 15, 2014.

Each winner receives the following:

1 year Membership in the AFMTE

1 free registration to the 2015 AFMTE Educational Congress

$1,000 Stipend (for travel, lodging and miscellaneous expenses) to be reimbursed at the conference


Over $500 in Free Product packages from Biofreeze & BonVital’ featuring their top product lines (retail value approximately $250 each)

A slot in the panel discussion at the 2015 Educational Congress


Last year’s winners were Elaine Stillerman, CE Provider and David Lauterstein, Teacher.